PDA

View Full Version : selfharming/overdose

martin-sheff
01-08-12, 20:27
hi just wanted a bit of help/advice im currently on propranalol and citalopram,suffering with anxiety/depression, have been refered to a councilour (iapt) and has been good to talk to her as i struggle to talk to family or friends as i cant really talk to any of them so i bottle it all up and make things worse,i was asked numerous questions by the councilor,
one was, do you think about suicide? i said yes all the time which is true and have done for years,the next question was,have you ever tried to commit suicide i answered no,which is a lie i have tried it twice this year,
i dont know why i lied,well i think it might be because i dont want to end up being sectioned,that may sound dramatic but thats what goes through my mind,is it wise for me to come clean with her the next time i see her?

PanchoGoz
01-08-12, 20:48
I would...I'm not experienced in these matters but there is quite a distinction between thinking about it and doing it, as lots of people have intrusive thoughts that pop up about suicide and people fear those thoughts, its part and parsel in anxiety, and the coucillor may think that is all these thoughts are. But if you actually tried, then she needs to know what a state you are in. I doubt she will section you, its your choice, but you must be in a really bad way and I urge you not to try again, if you ever feel like that, please please call the samaritans or a similar organisation.
It sounds like the citolopram is not doing it for you, she will know this if you are honest with her. If you tell her that you have tried to end it, she will realise this and hopefully put you on something more effective or at least take you more seriously.

The Sams number is 08457 90 90 90, write it on a piece of paper and keep it handy, you won't regret it. I know its an old saying but suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem. :)

martin-sheff
01-08-12, 21:35
@panchozgoz