PDA

View Full Version : 27yrs of fighting anxiety

Jaycee
03-08-12, 13:08
Hi .... This is my first time on any site to do with my anxiety ... I'm 35 with 3 children and generally have a well balanced life style .
I started to expereance weird feelings around the age of 8 , I've only ever seen a pscyatrist once who told me I have a idle mind ... That was in 94 clearly I didn't gain much faith in the nhs and decided to carry on fighting it myself . Its not been easy and I use the expression living in hell a lot ... Just recently I've suffered a huge bout of anxiety and I have been struggling for over a month . I've actually broke down twice and have had to admit to my family and friends that not all is well and I'm tired of fighting the unknown . I've been to a doctor which to me was a massive phobia !! I have spent years avoiding admitting that anything was wrong (suffered in silence ) scared of the out come ... Back to the doctor .. He has suggested its an anxiety disorder and has referred me to a well being team .... I know these are therapists that will train me to take charge of my mind .... I've been trying this for 27 yrs :( I'm just hoping that now I'm being open an honest about my inner thoughts they can help me to gain control .

nomorepanic
03-08-12, 13:18
Hi Jaycee

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.

Please take some time to read the website articles on the left as well for loads of advice and tips.

Pipkin
03-08-12, 14:28
Hi Jaycee and :welcome:
You've got a very similar story to me - I've suffered from anxiety for 30 years (I'm 41), seen a psychiatrist once who told me I had an over-active mind (?!) and that I needed to learn to relax - I could have told him that! Of course, at that time, I didn't believe I had anxiety and thought it was something physical.