PDA

View Full Version : Could anxiety really cause ALL of this?

cjspurlock
22-08-12, 16:43
Hello all!

I know you've probably heard this same question a million times and the answer is usually "YES!" but I wanted to share my story in hopes that someone else has been through the same thing.

I'm a 23-year-old male currently living in the Midwest. Here's my long story:

**Feel free to skip to the end for an overview**

For the past eight months I've been battling a number of baffling symptoms that an army of docs haven't been able to diagnose. A little over a year ago I graduated college, moved from my home in the Midwest to take a job in New York City (a place I had never been before), and also left behind all of my family, friends, and a girlfriend of 3+ years. Talk about stressful.

About a month after moving, I paid a visit to the emergency room because I was experiencing chest pains. At the time, I was afraid I had some mystery heart condition. After a few days in the hospital and several tests (EKGs, x-ray, heart echo, blood tests, urine tests), the doctors assured me I was fine. They told me it was most likely stress-induced costochondritis and prescribed anti-inflammatories. Things got better after a few weeks, but the pain would come back any time I got really stressed.