PDA

View Full Version : Newbie :)

little scientist
29-08-12, 09:32
Hi, just thought I'd introduce myself and say helloooo etc :)

Brief description about me:
I'm a 27 year old scientist from the East Midlands, who has suffered from anxiety and depression since I was about 19 years old. I think the initial trigger was the oral contraceptive, which I was then switched onto a milder one and things got a lot better (or so I thought) - I think the effects were to subtle that for years, I didn't realise what was causing my depression. I was initially prescribed fluoxetine. I later had this changed to citalopram as this dealt with my anxiety much better.

about 20 months ago, after a relationship breakdown, under GP guidance I stopped my contraception and opted for an alternative method. after about 6 months, I began to feel AMAZING not having the hormones in my system! and my overall day to day stability became...well much more stable to put it simply! I also had a new man in my life who is wonderful :) . In approx April of this year, I decided the time was right to try again to come off my citalopram. This time round, the anxiety hasn't been half as bad as previous attempts to come off when I was on the pill, but I know, I am still not right. Over the last 3 months or so, I have had increasing patches of being down in the dumps, and this month it has to a point where I just feel me and my body can't deal with it on its own. I have no desire for things, and absolutely no desire to eat so this morning I rang and made an appt with my GP, probably to resume citalopram. I figure, if a low dose of that returns me to the person I used to be, that's got to be good :)