PDA

View Full Version : Off work again

Dave
02-08-06, 23:25
I'm off work at the moment due to stress and anxiety, it's the third time in about 6 months. My anxiety symptoms become much worse whilst at work due to the demands placed on me (I work as a nurse in the NHS). I sometimes wonder whether the job is stressful or whether it's my perception of it but most other people there seem fed up at the moment. Spoke to my manager who has tried to help by reducing my hours and finding me another position in another area which will hopefully suit me more. I'm going to give it a go and see if I'm better off. I feel guilty for having time off work but I know I can't face it at the moment. I keep wondering if I'd be better off in another career but I'm not really sure as I tend to get anxious in everyday life too. My doctor is going to refer me to a counsellor, hoping that will help.

EebyJeeby
03-08-06, 00:19
Hi Dave,

I think nursing is undeniably stressful and in any job, stress is prevalent when there is a general mood of dissatisfaction or frustration among the workers.

Perhaps you should take this period of time off to really reassess things and with the help of the counselling (which will definitely help), you might find that once the anxiety backs off generally, your vocation might seem more attractive again. Or alternatively, you might decide on a complete change of career (which is what I'm doing). Either way, you need to quell the anxiety before making any real decisions.

Don't feel guilty about being off work. You need this time to take care of yourself for a change. Be off until you are sure you're ok, rather than keep going back before you're ready. Take your time!

Eeb x

Coni
04-08-06, 07:01
Hi Dave,