PDA

View Full Version : Started on mirtazapine, question about weight gain....

Clarinha
05-10-12, 10:38
Hello all,

I've just started taking Mirtazapine a couple of days ago as I was really struggling with my anxiety, feeling on edge constantly and needing some rest from it!
My doctor put me on Mirtazapine but she really made a big deal about weight gain on it. The thing is, I've been doing Weight Watchers for a couple of years, have lost about 10kgs on it and still have a couple to lose (so I'm pretty much at my ideal weight) and gaining weight would really bother me!
So far, I've only taken two tablets at night and they've totally knocked me out (am taking 15 mg) but I felt a relief and a noticeable decrease in my anxiety levels from day 1 and haven't really noticed a change in appetite yet (but it's very early days). Felt extremely foggy-headed for the best part of the day too with real difficulty in pulling myself out of bed and keeping my eyes open to get to work.
So, I was wondering, for those of you who have experience of taking this med, do you find that the weight gain is due to you eating more because it gives you a greater appetite or do you find that somehow, without eating more food, you still gain weight? I think I could cope with an increase in appetite as Weight Watchers has really taught me to manage my food intake and eat healthy snacks in case of munchies...
Any advice would be MUCH appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Clarinha :noangel:

BobbyDog
05-10-12, 12:05
I take 45mg at night and after about 20 minutes of taking my medication I get the munchies. I also feel that it slows the metabolism down a little. This is only my experience. You should have no problem, what you have learned at Weight Watchers should help you through.

hanshan
05-10-12, 12:25
Hi Clarinha,

I've found mirtazapine increases my appetite.