PDA

View Full Version : So scared I have a serious illness

AaronB
05-10-12, 17:28
Hi Everyone,

So I'm back again, I've been doing so well I suppose I am due a slight hiccup!

Right now, I am so scared I have lung cancer. My symptoms are achy upper body, back, shoulder, ribcage. There were shooting pains going through my chest and side of my ribs but these seem to have faded today, leaving this large ache in my stomach and the rest of my upper body.

Could it be my lungs? I'm so scared it is, I've smoked since I was 16 and I'm 30 now. I smoke about 5 or 6 a day at the moment.

I just feel like 'it must be'.. Which I know is silly. I've googled symptoms of lung cancer before and I am fighting so hard not to do it again as I just know it will make me worse.

I have no cough at all, and pretty much no other symptoms other than nausea, and these aches.

I'm battling through work and still going, although I just had to cut my last lesson (I'm a driving instructor) short and I HATE doing that. I have the weekend now to try and relax but I just can't get this lung cancer theory out of my head!

So most people are telling me this is all muscular issues. I have a bad left shoulder, whereby the muscle across my shoulder blade goes very hard and sore. It aches and can produce pain and aches all down my back, arm, and neck. It is flaring up right now as my left shoulder blade is sticking out like 2 inches.

I have a doctors appt on the 16th, but am going to all again on Monday and try to get an earlier date.

If anyone can offer me any re-assurance, or tell me they've had the same I'd really appreciate it.

I've been so good recently and hate feeling the wrath of anxiety again.

abby38
05-10-12, 18:15
Definitely sounds like muscular problems and not at all like lung cancer, I've had every ache and pain you can imagine, back, neck, chest etc etc. Try not to worry :)

AaronB
06-10-12, 14:38
Thanks Abby,