PDA

View Full Version : More Speech Trouble

DylanR
07-10-12, 09:36
I know this is probably just me focusing on it more but i keep mixing up words and pronouncing them wrong and it's starting to worry me that there is something seriously wrong with my Brain :/

Annie0904
07-10-12, 09:44
I do it all the time. Concentration isn't so good when you are anxious but I think a lot of people do it anyway. My husband is sitting with me now and I told him what you said and as I was saying that I think I do it all the time, I muddled my words :D

Pipkin
07-10-12, 09:51
Dylan,

I tend to do this when I'm very anxious. It used to concern me, especially as I do a lot of public speaking, but I found that the more I worried about it, the worse it got. Once I saw the obvious link with anxiety and not a physical cause, I stopped worrying about it so much and it's now much better.

Pip

Danny_dingle
07-10-12, 11:57
Hi Dylan,

I work in retail and find that when I'm tired, stressed, depressed or anxious my words muddle up and I even find myself forgetting the words for simple everyday things! I make a joke of it; if I muddle up a sentence or fall over my words when talking to a customer I brush it off by smiling and saying 'I'll start that again!' or 'That's easy for me to say!'

It's honestly perfectly normal: it's just because your brain is feeling tired and/or scrambled from the worry.

See it as funny and it will help your mood, too. :)

:hugs:

Danny xxx

DylanR
07-10-12, 17:24
I have a panic attack every time i make a mistake when Speaking :/

Sparkle1984
07-10-12, 18:23
I sometimes do that when I have to do a presentation, that's one of the main reasons I hate having to do presentations - that and the fear of stuttering on words.

fozzy is crying
07-10-12, 18:34
I have a panic attack every time i make a mistake when Speaking :/

I have the same problem.