PDA

View Full Version : Whats been helping me (cheesy story, beware)

Lissa101
14-10-12, 12:39
So when I first got anxiety I was looking for something to get me out of the house on a daily basis. At that point I couldn't really deal with people. I ended up volunteering as dog walker at the local shelter and that's when I met a very special canine (told you it was a cheesy story).

As I have a lot of experience with dogs I was asked to walk a difficult dog with behavioural problems. The dog was really only a pup, 6 months old, and was suffering extreme stress and anxiety (fear biting, back-flips in his kennel ect). It was so bad he had to be put away from the public and no-one wanted to re-home him.

Anyway, I really felt a bond with this dog, probably because we're both mad with stress. I've been walking him on a daily basis now for over a month and the improvement is massive. No more chasing cyclists, knocking people over, joining in football matches without being invited :D. Best of all he has settled down in his kennel and is much quieter and calmer.

These days where I feel pretty useless and don't accomplish anything of note I really feel this has been a big achievement for me. I feel so happy that I've been able to help this dog get rid of his anxiety and now people are taking an interest in him - so fingers crossed he'll have a family before xmas! And he's helped me in return, our daily walks have been a Godsend to me by getting me out of the house. I've been to green places I never would have bothered going before and have been getting to know the local dog walkers, so it's even helped my social anxiety a wee bit too.

Sorry for long post! x

Annie0904
14-10-12, 12:41
Aww Lissa what a lovely story, thank you for sharing it and a big well done to you :)

GunMetal
14-10-12, 13:19