PDA

View Full Version : Hi all....new guy here...panicking and worried...advice please

Aaron_southcoast
17-10-12, 13:39
Hi all,

Im new to this and this is my first post so bear with me.

To cut a long story short I suffered with an addiction to painkillers since 2009 and am now in the last stages of a subsitute programme, hopefully another couple of weeks and I shall be off that.

About 12 weeks ago or so I suffered a massive panic attack at home whilst looking after my newborn baby girl. It shook me alot and took a few days to get over it but then I had a couple more at work this time, one caused me to literally run from the building and ive been signed off since.

Ive seen my GP's VERY regularly, initially prescribed atenolol but that made me lightheaded and lowered by pulse so that was stopped. Ive tried to stay away from medication but last Thursday I suffered a blip and had a massive panic attack which didnt ease with 5mg Diazepam so I eventually ended up at the out of hours doctor at my local hospital who said go home and take another.

I saw my GP the day after and prescribed propranalol 40mg three times per day and 20mg citalopram. However im abit scared as just over the weekend I began to have extremely disturbing thoughts particularly about harming/killing my baby girl. The thought then causes massive anxiety. Im so concerned im going mad or ill that I went to my GP (again) this morning who said these thoughts are just caused by my anxiety.

I feel awful and would just like some reassurance those thoughts are just caused by my anxiety and will go away. Its as if im developing OCD, getting the thought then getting the anxiety. Can anyone else relate to this feeling?