PDA

View Full Version : Blood pressure worry

Dazza
24-10-12, 12:24
I'm a 39 year old male. Weight 84kg Height 1.80m.

Sometimes my blood pressure is up... usually quite ok, either 120 / 80 or lower even sometimes, and sometimes 120s-130/80ish.

But sometimes, like the past few days, I've also been getting high readings..like 150/90, 140/90.... I had my blood pressure taken at work (I work in a school)... the nurse said it was high and I should be on meds... but my readings are only high sometimes...

I don't want to be on meds. What's other people's experience? How long should I monitor it for? I thought that you only need to go on meds if your numbers are ALWAYS high? I know hypertension runs in my family, but often my readings are normal...

Thanks.

Annie0904
24-10-12, 12:27
Maybe you were anxious getting the reading at work? I work in a school and the nurse told me my glucose levels were too low. I had it checked by my gp and it was fine. Maybe it is just the stress off working in school! :)

Dazza
24-10-12, 12:35
Maybe you were anxious getting the reading at work? I work in a school and the nurse told me my glucose levels were too low. I had it checked by my gp and it was fine. Maybe it is just the stress off working in school! :)

Yes, sometimes my work can be stressful when I get bad classes... hehe, actually I just left one school where I was working a couple of days a week because the kids were making me so stressed.

I'm now only working in my usual school, where I've worked for more than 3 years.. I've not felt particularly stressed by work, but some person stuff has been bugging me recently.

I am now worrying about hypertension.. I have a friend who is 26, he's been on meds for a few years as he has it... I spoke to him about my numbers, and he reckons I don't need meds... some docs says I do... some just say eat less salt etc. I simply don't wanna go on meds at my age or ever if I can avoid it. :)

Annie0904
24-10-12, 12:38