PDA

View Full Version : holiday worries

sarahcovell
08-06-04, 17:08
Hi,
I have just found this forum and it is so nice to know I am not going mad. I have recently started having panic attacks after moving house from London to Manchester, which has meant leaving my job and all my friends. I am not very good at dealing with the panic attacks as they seem to come out of nowhere . My GP has been quite unhelpful and as I am going on holiday tomorrow (which terrifies me!) I wondered if anyone had any tips. Its the dizzy/faint feeling I find it hardest to deal with and am worried I am going to collapse in the middle of the airport!
Thanks
Sarah

sal
08-06-04, 17:39
Hi Sarah

Welcome to the site, you will find so much support and help on here.

I like yourself suffer from anxiety and panic attacks. I have just come back from holiday with my 9 year old daughter and just like you i was totally phased by the airport, aeroplane journey, but i kept reminding myself that i could do it and even people who dont suffer panic attacks find flying very nerve racking. Grab some positive thoughts and remember its a holiday your going on, where when you are there, its your time to chill out, relax and enjoy yourself. Where are you going and whom with? Panic attacks are horrible and for anyone who hasnt suffered on you could never truly explain how you feel, but hold onto your rational thinking, you arent going to lose control and the attack wont last eternally. Have you tried Rescue Remedy if you doctors is not been helpful. All health shops and boots sell it and it does help calm you down in the midst of anxiety. I am sure you will be fine on your holidays, and remember booking the holiday and going is a positive step, you could have given into the panic attacks and chose not to go on holiday but you are pushing yourself to do it. Well done. Enjoy your break.

Take care.

sarahcovell
08-06-04, 17:48
Thank you...