PDA

View Full Version : Birthday blues

smileforawhile
25-11-12, 11:07
Does anyone else get down about their birthday? Mine has just passed and instead of feeling cheerful and full of birthday joy it's left me feeling the opposite. I'm another year older but no further forward than this time last year. In my thirties, single and living with my parents. I sometimes feel like I'm existing rather than living. I know I have a lot to be thankful for and don't feel dreadfully unhappy really. Just a bit like groundhog day from year to year. Birthdays are supposed to be happy things, not trigger anxiety about life in general!

Col
25-11-12, 11:18
:birthday1: think of it as a blessing, enjoy it.

I've suffered since last February ( read my first post thread if your bored) basically there's swing and roundabouts to being the opposite of you, which I am. I'm in my thirties and have a degree and basically I had my first child at 20, I studied and worked , learnt to drive and have bought and sold 2 houses and we moved in with the inlaws ( absolute soul destroying ) and we got stuck there 2008 because of the economic slump. We finally bought our third house November 2 years ago and we are a lot more settled BUT we were with the in laws for 5+ years. Surprised were still married to be honest. We have 2 kids and basically in 2008 whilst the slump was on I got pregnant with my 2nd child. We virtually lived , ate , slept in the attic rooms in my hubbies parents house. Before we moved in our daughter was 3 until they accepted her and we had no choice but, to get married in secret. My parents were racist and my mums volatile relationship with my dad constantly breaking up and getting back together , had massive implications for me. My mum would take her frustrations about dad out on me and my hubby ( then boyfriend), to the point we'd fight and seen as though our first house purchase was going through whilst I was preg with my first, my mother wouldn't hear any of my worries about chi