PDA

View Full Version : More university issues, considering giving up

Edie
25-11-12, 13:22
I've just started university at the age of 31. As well an anxiety/depression, I have Asperger's and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I applied for support through Disabled Students Allowances and was awarded a mentor who I see weekly to provide disability support.

My first mentor was rubbish. All she would say was, "have self-confidence," but never offered any practical help to overcome the difficulties that were causing anxiety. I now have a new mentor who is extremely effective. I have seen her twice now. But I fear this help may have come too late.

My course is in animal care. I have a lot of experience with cats, and also some experience with small wild animals from my voluntary job at a wildlife rescue/rehabilitation centre. In college I am expected to handle small domestic animals like rabbits and ferrets, and also farm animals such as cows, horses and goats. I have no experience at all with any animals like this, whereas every other student on the course does. Once I have seen other people handling animals I know what to do and feel confident about handling them.

I raised my concerns with my first mentor who told me there was no problem, I was here to learn, and I should stop comparing myself to others and have self-confidence. I still had concerns, but I thought maybe my judgement was off and if I asked my tutors about this they would get annoyed with having to provide constant reassurance, so I didn't talk about this with anyone else at college.