PDA

View Full Version : Hi there!!

Lockers
27-11-12, 20:57
Hi-I am new to site and thought it would be a good idea to introduce myself and tell 'my story'. I have had anxiety for many years, since I was around 10 but only recognised it as anxiety in hindsight, but have been effected more acutely over the past 3 years.
I had always shyed away from many potentially stressful situations, or what I would have perceived to be stressful-new job, being on stage (I was a musician) etc and trained my brain to fear stress.
In one particularly busy period I moved homes, changed jobs and was in and out of a few relationships and I panicked. I'm sure everyone remembers their first panic attack (I think that's where much of the fear comes from). I had never experienced anything like it, such a terryfing point which I will always look back on.
From that point for a few months everything was scary. Leaving the house, going shopping, exercising and seeing friends. All would result in a panic attack on a daily basis. All I thought about was what if I panic again. 'Remember how bad the first time was'. I felt like part of me, part of my character had changed irreparably, that I was no longer the person I was, nor the person I really wanted to be.