PDA

View Full Version : Looking for people who understand...

Caramel
06-12-12, 10:11
Hey everyone,

I have been a member for a while, but haven't visited for a long time.

Basically, I have GAD and have always suffered from anxiety and panic. Unfortunately for me, there is no root cause, it's just the way I'm made. :wacko:

As with many others, the panic attacks & anxiety have 'progressed' as the years have gone by and my world has become smaller and smaller. At the moment I feel I am not really living, just existing. I recently had to stop working because I couldn't do my job properly. I was a teacher, but I couldn't take the kids out on trips or go on courses. I was also starting to struggle with the odd attack during the day.

I have been prescribed various drugs over the years (I am now 37 by the way :blush:) but while they may be an initial help, they don't last. I am currently weaning myself off Venlafaxine-only a quarter of a tablet to go! I'm not going to try anything else drug-wise.

As usual, as Christmas approaches, I find myself getting more and more anxious, with panic attack after panic attack. Every year, I completely ruin Christmas for my family and my partner and his family because I just can't cope with it. I hate it. :weep:

On top of this, I've got myself into a complete state because I think one of my teeth may need some attention and the thought of going to the dentist fills me with complete terror.

I am typing this with tears streaming down my face. I feel completely alone, with no light at the end of the tunnel. My doctor only either wants to put me on more pills or just gets frustrated because there really isn't anything else she can offer me so I haven't bothered contacting the surgery.

We do have a service here called Italk, which offers CBT, but they can't start seeing me until January because they are so busy.