PDA

View Full Version : I'm worried about the topics about diazepam

Allie
23-08-06, 22:02
The topics in the Medication forum about diazepam are worrying me.

I am currently withdrawing from the drug and was looking on there for advice and support.

I know that benzos are addictive I was shocked to see how many people who have recently been put on the drug are on these forums asking for advice on how addictive they are, only to be told by other members that they are not.

I am no doctor or expert but I feel that these people are being misinformed and would appriciate some sort of proper information to be put up on these forums about benzodiazepines by the modertors or links to reputable orgainazations that deal with such drugs!

Kindest regards

Miss AE Price

THE VOICE INSIDE YOUR HEAD IS NOT THE VOICE OF GOD. IT JUST SOUNDS LIKE IT THINKS IT IS! Cheri Huber

darkangel
23-08-06, 22:21
i totally agree - benzos are VERY addictive and should not be taken lightly. the withdrawals after long term use can be horrific.

on the plus side they are effective in VERY SHORT TIME use

you have a right to be concerned - but one thing i will add is slow down gradually and with support from your GP

Allie you will get off them, just take your time and well done for raising this VERY important issue.

Take care

Drakangel

........life is for living not just for surviving

Allie
23-08-06, 22:29
Thanks for your support!

I've been addicted (and I don't use that word lightly) for eighteen months.

I was on 9mg diazepam and have am currently on 8mg, dropping 1/2 mg every three weeks (next week I drop to 7.5mg and am actually looking forward to it!) . I have already completely withdrawn from a 2mg daily lorazepam succesfully and am doing it under supervision from a CBT therapist and my GP!

I really think this bad advice on here needs to be stopped and people must realize that tranqilization is not a cure, merley a mask.