PDA

View Full Version : Hullo

BlueNowhere
17-12-12, 13:10
Hi all,

I've come across this forum a few times in the past, and have often found useful information and experiences I can relate to. I've joined now as I have worsening anxiety as I approach an upcoming "holiday".

A bit about me:

I'm a pretty pragmatic, well prepared and competent individual. I prefer being solitude. Some of my work involves presentation, teaching and lecturing (to various audiences, in various means) - I'm good at that.

However, I do suffer from panic attacks, often when I'm in a group, walking through the high street, etc. I've also got quite a few obsessive habits - rituals when I leave the house, go to bed etc. When I walk through town for example, I visualise dark thoughts, but I have a sort of compass that I feel guides me to making safe decisions - for example, I'll get a bad vibe if I walk on the wrong side of a lamp post. Now, I'm a scientist and I know it's irrational, but that's how I behave.

I did ignore these things but they worsened to the point that I decided to ask my GP for help.

Now I take sertaline 100mg (after some success with citalopram, but continuing anxiety attacks) with diazepam on an as needed basis. My OCD behaviour is slightly better, but I still get the occasional panic attack (when in the shops, or something like that - not when standing in front of a room of 500 people).

Anyway, I considered myself to be getting along fine, though recently my anxiety has worsened - this post is getting rather long so I think I'll explain more about that in another topic... I just meant to say:

Hi!

Baggs
17-12-12, 13:13
Welcome to the site. I hope you find as much help here as I have. I wish you all the best.

Baggs

Mark13
17-12-12, 13:14
Hi

Welcome to the forum.

I'm sure you'll find lots of support. There are many OCD and anxiety sufferers here.

nomorepanic
17-12-12, 13:20
Hi BlueNowhere