PDA

View Full Version : Is this GAD

saintanselm
18-12-12, 21:43
Dear All,

I have been diagnosed with GAD and was wondering if any of you have had these symptoms.

I'm a teacher, or I have just finished my first term teaching at University. At the end of the term my 50 students or so had to give feedback anonymously. I did get to see the feedback and it was nearly universally positive. That stated now term has come to an end I feel I have done an awful job and that everyone thinks the worst of me.

I also get very anxious when people don't reply to e-mails. Again a part of me thinks its because they hate me etc etc

Its very frustrating. Does any one have the same problems after they've finished work etc

almamatters
18-12-12, 21:55
I was diagnosed with GAD ten years ago, I am constantly worrying I have not done things well enough, used to get home from work and over analyze everything that had happened, one small mistake would reduce me to tears and sleepless nights. like you if a friend of colleague did not reply to a email or phone message, I would then assume they had fallen out with me and then start to ring them asking if things were ok with us!!:blush: I think I am hopeless at my job, despite being told I am fine, and generally have serious low self esteem concerning everything about me. I am now on medication, which seems to help,and I have found as I have got older I have got a bit better. Sending you hugs :hugs:

Mark13
18-12-12, 22:01
Yep. Lack of self belief, esteem, confidence. Paranoia, everybody hates me, I'm rubbish at everything.

Thing is I am :)

I'm making fun of myself not you, if I didn't it would drive me crazy...

Could be a little bit of depression too IMHO.

Do you look to put yourself down when you get praised too? Along the lines of they say "you did a great job" and you reply either "oh, it was nothing", "I was lucky" "so and so helped me", "I got the easy task" etc?