PDA

View Full Version : Fear of losing control

charm143854
26-08-06, 13:55
I have an embarrasing fear that has ruled my life for far too long. I fear being away from a toilet in case i need to go. It means whenever i go out i need to know where i'm going where the toilet is, and if i don't know i don't go out. Even if i do know i still panic incase i need to go before i get to the toilet or if there is a queue.

I go to the toilet a lot during the day just in case i need to go, and it takes me ages to get out of the house because i go to the toilet again and again just in case. I have managed to overcome it and do things sometimes but it comes back again and again. I end up going round and round in my head which in turn upsets my stomach and makes things a whole lot worse!

The problem i have is admitting what my fear is to people around me. How do i tell someone i'm scared in case i wet myself!?

Will i ever overcome or deal with this fear!?

seren
29-08-06, 10:08
OMG, it's like reading my own story, which I am also very embarrassed to talk to anyone about.

I simply cannot be away from a toilet and I'm virtually housebound because of it. Whenever I have a panic attack the first thing I feel is the desperate need to go to the loo. Sometimes when I get back to my house, I don't even need to go anymore but while I'm out I can't differentiate between feeling like I need to go because I'm panicking and actually needing to go. Does that make any sense?