PDA

View Full Version : Fear of fainting?

aimzicles
01-01-13, 17:39
Hello all.

I wanted to introduce myself, and tell you why I ended up here. I have dealt with anxiety, to differing levels on and off since my teens. At its worst, I feel literally a prisoner in my own mind, uncomfortable in my own skin, panic-stricken and tied to the house.

As I have gotten older, it has dissipated - to the point where I almost thought my anxiety could be a thing of the past. However, one incident a couple of months back has provoked an avalanche of negative thinking and panic-inducing thoughts that I can't seem to stop.

I work in a school with kids with learning disabilities, and I was recently sat in a biology lesson with one of my students. They were doing menstruation, and put on a short video that showed a virtual cervix doing it's business. I'm actually laughing writing this, as it seems so silly. Anyway, I've always had a blood/needles/hospital phobia, but it hasn't bothered me so much as it's restricted to very small moments in my life where I will have to see anything gross. Well, this video was gross by most peoples standards - but it only lasted a couple of minutes. I worked myself into such a frenzy about seeing all this, that I fainted. The whole class saw me, the teacher had to help me and the nurse was called.