PDA

View Full Version : stay calm!!

riposare
02-01-13, 18:02
hello everyone!
my names mario, and im very new to this site. first time on any site for me. been looking and reading forums for years, but have now found the courage to actually get involved. have read loads of posts and i find it very encouraging that everyone can help eachother.
been having panic/anxiety attacks since i was living at home with my parents, thats quite a while now considering im now 47.. a couple of years ago i thought i had them under control and was enjoying my life, but now their back with a vengence, and i have developed new fears which never bothered me before. cant keep spending hundreds of pounds on hypnotherapy, and councelling is a waste of time. im a self employed builder and have to drive to many different locations to get to work. ive been turning down work in areas that i deem to be too far, even 5/6 miles.
im gonna lose all my customers if i carry on like this.. i cannnot do traffic anymore i feel so trapped!! struggling to do the simple things in life, like going shopping or standing in a queue in the post office. this is having an adverse affect on my life, i dont want to stay home forever!!

nomorepanic
02-01-13, 18:12
Hi riposare

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.

Please take some time to read the website articles on the left as well for loads of advice and tips.

Annie0904
02-01-13, 18:16
Hi Mario :welcome: I am sure you will find lots of support here. Are you on any medication? You say yo have had counselling, have you had cbt?

riposare
02-01-13, 18:42
hi annie!
thanks for replying,
i dont take any medication as i try to avoid pills. i brought this stuff called rescue remedy from chemist, thats all ive tried in terms of meds.
ps dont want to sound too thick but what is cbt?

almamatters
02-01-13, 18:55