PDA

View Full Version : Derealization/Afraid I'm in a coma. Losing my mind.

turtleonaleash
03-01-13, 23:18
Hi All,

I haven't posted here in a very long time but I've reached a new low point. I'm a 24 year old female and I've been battling panic attacks and agoraphobia for the last three years straight. I took Citalopram last year and it helped a lot and then I was feeling so great I decided to come off it. I was fine for a few months but now I'm terrified to leave my house again. I've been back on 20mg of Citalopram for 4 weeks now (as well as 15mg Mirtazapine) and I am in a constant state of panic. For the last month and a bit I've been afraid that I'm not really here, I'm afraid everything is a dream or worse - I'm laying in a hospital bed in a coma somewhere and this is all just my imagination. Yesterday I went out for a bit with my dad and I was convinced I was going to kill myself. I was so afraid I was going to drive my car into on coming traffic. I didn't want to, but I just couldn't stop thinking about it. I was supposed to return to college yesterday but I just couldn't. I've been trying to get in with the psychiatrist I use to see but he can't see me until March!

My friends and family members are all so disappointed in me.

I've never experienced this feeling before. Could it be a side effect from the Citalopram? I have been reading on here that once you just "accept' it, it will eventually pass, but I just can't. I try and try but I just end up more hysterical. Any words of advice on how to make this blasted thing go away is greatly appreciated.

-Jacqueline

Mark13
03-01-13, 23:48
You're here, you're real. You're not in a coma. You are not losing your mind.

Although I would be very careful about driving when you're feeling this way.

I've had derealisation for 34 years following brain surgery (although it was probably due to the health trauma rather than brain injury).