PDA

View Full Version : ive got something to tell you all

juju
29-08-06, 21:21
my name is julie,
im going to be really brave now and let you all into a secret........here goes
about three years ago when i had bad depression i started gambling, i just had no emotion i think i was escaping or trying to escape from myself if you know what i mean. anyway over the course of the three years i racked up 43,000 worth of debt, yes you read it right, disgusting isnt it. i started drawing money out on credit cards to fund it so my husband wouldnt find out, then i would take out a loan to repay it because the interest was too high, and i would swear to myself that this was it- no more, anyway to cut a massive story short 3 personal loans and an extra job later(to pay for the loans) i finally told my husband and risked it all -him leaving me- everything. that was 6 months ago now. i think this was breaking point which triggered the panic, from then on i stopped ALL gambling have not been anywhere near in all this time, you know seeing my husbands face with the tears falling down his face nearly crippled me, and i am so so lucky that he never left me and the children. i now have a debt plan and i am paying it off sensibly, i know it will take me years but as long as i still have my family then that is all that matters. my husband knows the guilt i bear, i have to learn to accept it and carry on somehow. i give myself no excuses apart from the depression and totally blocking the world and its consequences out
thankyou all for listening, apart from my husband there is no-one else who knows
dont think too badly of me
im a nice person
i love my family very much
i am so sorry
julie

we are all stronger people after having this

nomorepanic
29-08-06, 21:25
Julie

Wow - well done you for opening up and telling us all that.

Don't be sorry and no-one here will think badly of you atall in any shape or form.

It was brave of you to tell us and I hope that it has helped in some small way.