PDA

View Full Version : Really scary episode-please help!

Seffie
14-01-13, 10:05
Hi,
I'm an anxiety veteran & am so much better these days, never suffer panic attacks now just mild anxiety at times, but this morning I experienced something that really scared me.
I woke up at 7:30am fell back to sleep & woke up at 8:10am so had to wake myself up quickly & got up after 2 minutes. Felt abit odd, couldn't put my finger on it, just kind of flat & that something wasn't right.
Bent over to put my lenses in, stood up & my vision was kind of swimmy & everything looked almost too real & intense. This panicked me slightly so my heart started racing & I was about to take the kids to school so I desperately tried to calm myself down. I walked downstairs & I just felt so spacey, disorientated & out of it, abit like being drunk. It was like when I moved my head or eyes everything seemed far away or like it moved too much. I've had vertigo before & it wasn't that. So I sat down & my heart was racing, managed to get in the car & drive the kids to school but felt terrified & all the time I felt like I was going to black out or just drop dead. I got home & started to feel more normal.
There were no other symptoms at all - no weakness, dizziness, nausea or anything. Just this unreal, out of it feeling & weird vision.
Anyone experienced similar or any idea what it could be? I've googled all the scary stuff already!
I think I may have had these kind of symptoms in the past, can't really remember but this was so intense that it really shook me up.

Angelai
14-01-13, 22:57
I think I get a very similar thing to what you describe - it's like the swimmy head forces me to focus/concentrate more, like everything stops for a second and I become over-aware, if you know what I mean? I think for me, it's a sudden drop in blood pressure, and the feeling that causes then wakes up the anxiety which hits like a train!