PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Scared of the 'C' word..

katieloveshoes
14-01-13, 20:19
Hi all - Newbie here.

My HA started after I had a cough for 2 weeks; Went to the doctors and he couldn't find an infection and said I might have Asthma. Thinking back, it was a pretty bad doctor to be fair (walk in centre - never any good).

So it started from there really - from the point i'm convinced I've got cancer or about to have a heart attack. Even writing that sentence knocked me sick. Some days its my chest and ive got cancer, some days my breasts and ive got cancer, some days my back hurts so its lung cancer, some days my stomach hurts so its colon cancer, my head so its brain cancer - I cant seem to get away from it. A slight twinge sends me into a frenzy.

I find it alarming how I can sit and write that, but I cant watch certain TV programmes any more (in fact most) - I can only watch shows that I know how its going to end - so no nasty surprises.

I have to feel my pulse as a safety check most days to make sure its not irregular. I love getting into bed and going to sleep because my panic and twinges go away then.

I saw a councilor for the first time tonight who really helped - I thought the following really helped;

'Its like Nits - when people discuss them and talk about them, what happens?' to which I replied.. 'I scratch my head' she smiled and said exactly.

This really hit home with me, and maybe it might help a few others.

I'm on the waiting list for therapy - I was diagnosed Diazapam and Citalopram but I wouldn't take them because - guess - I was scared of the what might happen, which is why I was referred instead.

So anyway.. Hi fellow sufferers. Today's been a 'good' day - can't guarantee tomorrow will be, but thought id post while I was feeling good. :)

Generalfol
14-01-13, 20:47
Hi, the thing with the Nits really made sense to me when I read that.

Thanks for sharing it.

almamatters
14-01-13, 20:51