PDA

View Full Version : Time for a dental app?

Em.ma
22-01-13, 22:29
My wisdom tooth on the bottom has been coming through for months now the gum is split and I can see the crown of the tooth but its been like this for 3 months I have very overcrowded teeth and was wondering if its having trouble coming through. Tonight it's causing not pain but discomfort so tommoro I'm going to book an app however I need one for a fri after noon because of work and unless theirs a sign of infection ? What's the signs that I have one will I just know? Will I be ok to leave it 2 weeks or so until the app ...

Tonijade
22-01-13, 22:40
Hi Emma,
I used to be a dental nurse so I know a bit but am in no way a replacement for dental advice! If it's not causing pain you are fine to wait a few weeks, just keep the area really clean. If the gum in the area is red or swollen you can use a warm salt-water mouthwash a few times a day or corsodyl mouthwash is good. If it becomes infected you will know as the gum will be swollen and very sore. Then you will probably need antibiotics. I have had problems with my wisdom teeth and have had a couple of courses of amoxicillin for them. Wisdom teeth can be slow coming through. The best bet is to book a dental appointment as soon as you can so that they can assess the tooth and decide what to do with the crowding. If you get pain in the meantime you could always try and get an emergency appointment. Hope this helps a bit. Toni xx

Em.ma
23-01-13, 00:40
It is sore to brush and touch so a bit worried about infection? Will i die from it? Sounds drastic but I've heard about them spreading to the brain lol. Gonna get app ASAP

Tonijade
23-01-13, 09:59