PDA

View Full Version : going away

yorkylover
01-09-06, 16:40
Hello everyone.I went away to Devon in May and had bad axiety and panic attacks all week.It spoilt the holiday for me and my partner.I felt so sorry for him.
Tomorrow Im due to go away for a long weekend and Im feeling anxious because of May,I automatically think its going to be the same.Im always so negative.We are not going to far this time,but its that feeling of not being at home in a safe environment Are there other people like this.Iwas reading about Andrea who has gone away today and I feel for her.
The motorway doesnt help as my last attack I had to tavel back on the motor way in back of my partners car.[8)]

Ellen XX

fran43
01-09-06, 17:02
Hi Ellen

Althought I am new to NMP, I had to endure a holiday in USA for three weeks in crowds, queues but worse of all planes. I cant stand sitting still.

I dont personally have a safe place (not home or on holiday). I am a firm believer is PA's/anxiety/fear and believe holidays/thoughts turn into self-fulfilling prohopecy's ie if you think they will happen they will. You are looking back at your May holiday and thinking/believing because they happened in May they will happen now.

Look closely at your thoughts, if you feel they will come true they will. If you think, well whatever happens it may be unpleasant, scary but I will get through it then that may happen. It is turning the negative thoughts/beliefs into positive ones that will make your long week end into something pleasant. Failing that it may feel unbearable.

As I said, I am knew to this type of thinking. It does not work every time for me, but I am beginning to understand the logic behind it.

Try to enjoy your weekend without predicting what it will be like.

Take care of yourself.

Fran XX

polly daydream
01-09-06, 18:49