PDA

View Full Version : Housing/renting. Never done this before

MidnightCalm
28-01-13, 09:21
If I were to rent a 2 bedroom flat by myself with a full time job that would cover my costs what do I need? I'm 23 and this is me moving from home. Would they accept me? What do they need from me. I'm worried nobody will give me one because of my age or because I am alone. Or because I've never done things like this before. I've seen a 2 bed flat I want for around 600pcm. I don't know where to start. Could I then have my friend staying apt who said they would help with the rent, but just get it in my name as they do not have a job and are on sick and have no credit so would be bad idea to say they're moving in too. Please help.:bighug1:

Kells81
28-01-13, 10:17
Hiya-a type of credit check I'd usually done when someone rents a house, these varies depending on who you are renting from. Agencies take references usually from your employer and someone who knows you and they also ask how much you earn so the can decide if you salary is enough to cover the rent.
You will be required to pay a deposit which is usually one month or one and a half months rent and you also pay one months rent up front-these together are quite a lot so make sure you have those funds available.
In top of rent you also pay council tax, electric, gas, water, tv license, insurance and the Internet/phone if you require those.

Hope that helps a bit!

mikewales
28-01-13, 10:22
You wouldn't be able to get someone else to stay as that would be sub-letting, they would need to have their name on the tenancy agreement as well.

Normally when you rent you have to pay a bond, and a months rent in advance - the bond varies, but is generally around a months rent as well.

If you go through an agency, they will normally want references from an employer, previous landlord ( if applicable ) etc..