PDA

View Full Version : coping with a horrific loss

James_P
31-01-13, 23:37
Hi everyone, my first post here. My mum was killed in a car accident just before christmas, on my birthday! (the accident was a week before, but she died later of her injuries). Im struggling real bad with my anxiety and depression, i have finally conceded to going on antidepressants (sertraline) which i start Monday, but im scared that i will not be able to handle the side affects and attempt suicide. I havent drank for 2 years which i really struggle with aswell because i have to sit with my feelings 24/7. Im an alcoholic so not drinking is not a choice really!

Im really struggling to leave the house, I play drums for a living and im expected to start gigging again in a few weeks, and because im scared of letting people down i will probably be pushed into things too quickly.

I dont really know what my question is! i just dont wanna die, but i feel like im being walked down this path by my obsessive/addict/anxious mind, whilst i consciously witness it all.

Also the man that killed my mum is still alive, which hurts me, and makes me wonder what im gonna do when he gets out of jail!

Any way if youve got this far thanks for reading, spose i just needed to write something.

James

Bluebelle
31-01-13, 23:40
James honey-I am so deeply sorry for the loss of your mum.

I am sending you big hugs and lots of love all the way from chilly cold Canada.

shaka
01-02-13, 00:06
James My thoughts are with you. I too am sending you love hugs,

nomorepanic
01-02-13, 00:16
I am so sorry to read this James - no wonder you are devastated and so down.

Please do see your doctor and ask about some form of bereavement counselling which could help.

Please try not to drink again even though this must really make you want to.

We are here to help and support you through this all we can

James_P
01-02-13, 00:36