PDA

View Full Version : Side effects after citalopram

Bungle
15-06-04, 22:45
I was suffering with itching towards the last few months of 20mg of citalopram. My doctor in his wisdom suggest i instantly stop can anyone tell me the sort of side effects n e one else has experienced are after you suddenly come off and how long it lasted thanks..

nomorepanic
15-06-04, 22:51
oh wow - instantly stopping is not generally a good idea. You should be weaned off slowly.

Was that really his advice - doesn't sound good to me.

Nicola

Bungle
15-06-04, 23:00
Well this is a rather brash old gp!!! but its been a week and sometimes i feel crap!!!!

Meg
15-06-04, 23:33
Sadie wil be able to tell you her experiences - she stopped suddenly a few months ago.

It may take up to 6 weeks to clear .

Meg

'There can only be true courage when first there is genuine fear'

Dr.David Livingstone

HB
17-06-04, 12:13
ive been being weaned off citalopram for over 6 months now- this is how long it should take, do you know why he took you offf it so suddenly?

H

sam
10-01-05, 20:36
Hiya out there,
now it makes some sense why I have being having side effects since coming off citalopram at christmas. I did wean the tablets down from 10mg to 5mg to 0mg but the side effects still come, Its been about 3 weeks since I stopped.

The worst side effect has been the depression, one day it was so bad that i had suicidal thoughts constantly. I dont think like that normally, never, so I knew it was the tablets but it was still disturbing. The same thing happened to me when I was put on the lowest dose of prozac, I was watching tv and thinking about committing suicide as a casual thing like making a cuppa!!! I stopped them straightaway.

Ive also been feeling more panicky than usual and have a constant sense of dread in my belly. It isnt nice and I wont be taking any antidepressants again.
take care
sam x

camilla
24-01-05, 12:52