PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum :) Hello

shaunnajadelle
18-02-13, 23:46
Hello,

Just thought I'd post an introduction about myself as it seems like the first thing to do! My name is Shaunna and I'm 21, I'm a university student studying Psychology in my final year and I'm also a trainee embalmer. This results in a lot of my training career being surrounded by death, which may or may not add to my anxieties :unsure:

I came across this site and the forums while Googling how long tonsillitis can last for and whether it's normal to experience neck pain with it. I was told yesterday I have this after visiting the doc with very sore throat, swollen glands, fluey symptoms and neck ache, but I considered the neck pain to be abnormal and was convinced I had meningitis. I was told I have tonsillitis and probably muscular strain (lol)

This is a huge habit of mine. I have extreme health anxiety, I have since I was very young but it seemed to get rapidly worse last month when I developed a water infection and was given antibiotics which gave me various side effects which I completely blew out of proportion and was convinced I had many different fatal illnesses including brain cancer, septicaemia and so on... This excessive worry resulted in 3 weeks of solid panic, I lost my appetite completely and lost lots of weight. I seemed to improve after a few weeks and have been okay until the past few days in which I've had tonsillitis symptoms.. it seems to be that whenever I am ill now, regardless how minor it is, I am absolutely convinced that it is something deadly.