PDA

View Full Version : It wasn't a very good year for me :-(

Tessar
19-02-13, 19:47
Hello everyone. Sometimes I'm not very good at telling people when I don't feel good, so I thought I'd turn over a new leaf & share how I'm feeling right now. After all I know I'm amongst friends here and what are friends for eh?
A year ago this week my brother died. At the time it felt very odd because I never got on with him (he subjected me to emotional abuse throughout my childhood so I can hardly say I was upset when this happened). When I was driving to work this morning, I began to feel upset as thoughts from when it happened last year came back. I remember thinking back then that "I did try to like him". I really did try in recent years to see a better side to my brother but he never showed me any warmth or kindness so I guess it was just destined to be that way
Even though I'm a kind & warm person, for some reason over the years my mother was always critical of me where my brothers were concerned (there were four of them so I was outnumbered). I do wish I'd had a sister to help me through. My little brother was my saviour though as we always get on really well.
Over the last year I supported my parents and remaining brothers, even though I knew that being there for them would probably set me back. I did become depressed & so began seeing a counsellor to try & work the bad memories & feelings out of my system. It's been very hard work but I am making progress. I often feel somehow dirty or undesirable, for want of a better way of putting it. Finally I am seeing clearly the reason I feel this way isn't because it's true, it's because the horrid things my brothers said & did to me. Even though I know this, it's still hard to shake off.