PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - me and my "friend" anxiety

MattH
26-02-13, 11:43
Hi all.

Im totally new to speaking about my anxiety to the world - feels a bit awkward, but here we go.....

I had a nervous breakdown due from emotional and physical exhaustion back in my early 20's. I was working for a cowboy outfit and due to inexperience and feeling the need to saying yes to anything I was asked I ended up very ill. At the time I was an outgoing and confident person, but the company took on a job in peterborough which was meant to take 2 weeks and ended up being 3 months. During this time I also ended up being on my own as the other engineer quit as he'd had enough of us being used. Over that period I began to feel permanatly knackered and had no will to be going out at the weekends (if I weren't working) or any will to be doing anything, just wanted to sleep and hide. The job then evolved into travelling all around the country and staying away from home for nights at a time. Over the coming months I began to steer clear from going out and eating or going clubbing due to this overwhelming fear and everything going weired. I had no idea what was happening to me, but kept plodding along, mucking on through.

It came to a head eventually and my girlfriend at the time noticed a massive change in me and I was ordered to go see docs...I was told I was having a breakdown and to take time off work and re-coup. I was also told that the symptoms I described when going for meals or out with friends etc....was panic attacks. I took one week off which was nice, but in hindsight wasn't anywhere near long enough. Anyway I was eventually made redundant.

Since then (12 years) I have suffered panic attacks in all sorts of situations (work, travelling, social events)

I've only been on 2 holidays in UK in 12 years due to fear of having a panic attack away from home and don't like to travel away anywhere unless im driving and even then I feel really anxious.