PDA

View Full Version : Hello

chillx
11-09-06, 14:26
Hi

I have been visiting this website for the last 8 weeks and have found it very useful. I am a mature student, married with two teenage children.

About 2 weeks following the end of my second year at university (June 2006) I took a turn in the supermarkert I felt I was going to faint and then i started sweating, shaking, my heart was racing and I thought I was going to be sick. Since then I have been having feelings of dizziness most days. The GP said she felt that it was anxiety and I had a panic attack in the supermarket. She changed my beta blocker (which I take for high blood pressure) and over the last 2 weeks I have slowly felt better and have been able to visit the supermarket and have been gaining in confidence.

Yesterday I went to the supermarket with my daughter and I felt relaxed we spent quite alot of time shopping and i bumped into two friends and we chatted for some time (something that I couldn't have done 2 months ago). Then we went to the self check out ,we were laughing and having fun as i scanned the items. Suddenly I felt I was going to faint, I grabbed the trolley and the feeling was still there I then leant over the trolley until it passed. I don't understand where this came from as I have been feeling much better over the last 14 days and had no feelings of anxiety as i shopped, now I feel I am back to square 1. Has anyone else felt like this? This morning I had to take my car to the garage for a service and I got into quite a state not about driving but about walking the short distance home. In the end I asked the mechanic to drive me home and he also said he would drop the car off at the house when the service is complete. I felt a failure. Now I am also worried about going back to university in 2 weeks time. Not sure whether I can cope.