PDA

View Full Version : Pregabalin and cognitive function

Lissa101
10-03-13, 10:24
So my doc has eventually agreed to prescribe me these. I've read up on the side effects and think I can cope with most of them. The only one I'm concerned about is a decrease in cognitive function because I'm a student and need to be able to use my brain. Anxiety has already affected my memory and ability to think clearly so I'm not so keen on my cognitive function getting even worse. Has anyone noticed this effect, how bad was it and did it last?

xxx

BobbyDog
10-03-13, 12:54
Not sure what dose you have been prescribed. I have to say that taking Pregabalin has affected my cognitive function. I find it hard to accomplish a task unless I write it down on paper, for me to refer to, so as I don't forget to do it. For me just going from one room to another in the house is long enough for me to forget why I am there. Sometimes when I open my mouth to speak I can't find the words in my memory bank. But, this can happen with any type of medication especially antidepressants. I am sure some people are not affected at all. This is just my experience. The positive effects for me far outweigh the negative.

JaneC
10-03-13, 13:15
Unfortunately, epilepsy drugs are notorious for this Lissa. However, my daughter has been able to offset the effects by making a small reduction in her dose. She takes a different drug and for epilepsy itself but keeping your dosage as low as you can might minimise possible problems x

Lissa101
10-03-13, 14:31
BobbyDog - I'm like that already! I call people and forget why I called them, I have to keep a diary for the first time in my life just to remember what I'm doing day to day.