PDA

View Full Version : Scared to dye hair?? :(

mrslala
13-03-13, 23:38
hi everyone
i know this is really silly but i have extreme anxiety and phobia of hair dye allergy!
i have been dying my hair for 7 years with the same colour (black) and have had no problems in the past thankfully....since all of this ppd scare and allergic reactions ive been terrified to do it and convinced i will die from dying it :( and end up in hospital :(

does any one have this problem and do you think if i do the skin test and its ok it will be ok to dye it? its really getting me down seeing everyone with nice hair and mine is terrible :(

thank youxx

lindadiana
14-03-13, 00:19
hello,i have the same phobia about hair dyes it took me six months to pluck up courage to do it,they say the skin test is advised but ive seen on youtube people who claim they did the patch test and still had a reaction,i did a read up on it all and it does say its extremely rare to have a extreme reaction to hair dyes,but like you i still have that fear it might be me so your not alone in this, many worry about it,i have my youngest daughter stay in the bathrom with me and i take my tranqulisers and just try not to think abou it,i sit in a hot bath for 20 mins whiles its dying and hope for the best,im like this with lots of things food,clothes the list goes on. hope you manage to do it in the end its not easy being fed up with your hair and seeing everyone else just doing it like they had a shampoo,but thats phobias for you,all the best linda

rb1978
14-03-13, 00:49
Not sure what advice I can give but just to say I have this too.

I dyed my hair for years - naturally dark blonde/dyed it dark brown - and never even considered that anything might happen.

My anxiety got really bad a couple of years ago due to health worries and since then one thing I've not dared do is dye my hair. Even with the same product I used for years!

mrslala
14-03-13, 09:06
thank you so much for the replies