PDA

View Full Version : New member!

sfournier
14-03-13, 16:19
Hello!

I joined this forum because unfortunately I became a victim of awful panic attacks and I thought I could find advice and information through online forums. I'm a 24 year old full-time university student and I work part-time, and since this started it has completely disrupted my life. I'm new to panic attacks, it never happened to me before until a week ago, but my father had to deal with them for a very long time.

It seems to have started a week before I had a panic attack. I was having chest pain for a week and was worrying about it. My grandpa has been suffering with heart diseases for a few years now, has had multiple heart attacks, and i'm a little overweight so my family is always concerned about my heart. Naturally, when I had chest pain for a week that felt like heart pain I worried a little. So after about 6 days of constant chest pain I went to the clinic. The doctor didn't order any tests, she just listened to my heart, lungs and stomach and then sent me home saying is probably muscular, to apply heat, stretches and take Advil. I didn't believe her diagnoses one bit but I tried the stretches. During this period I was missing classes off and on because I was feeling restless about my chest pain. The day before my panic attack I remember being in class, really restless and feeling like I couldn't wait for the class to end, and my mind was all over the place. At the time I did not associate my feelings as anxiety but now i'm starting to realize that may have been what was going on.