PDA

View Full Version : Newbie :)

nd267
14-03-13, 21:18
Hello!
My doctor recommended this site to me, and I can see why! Already it's been extremely useful...and it's nice to know I no longer have to suffer alone.

I am a university student studying law in my second year. I've always been an anxious person, ever since i was very little, but since university my anxiety has gotten worse.
I know everyone's stressed at uni, but i've experienced some extreme symptoms. When im in a group of friends and in social situations, i'm absolutely fine...but as soon as i'm on my own, my mind races with the stress of work, deadlines, exams and revision. I experience panic attacks in public places, for example the other day, I was looking at my essay question due in in a few weeks in the library, and i started shaking, sweating, my heart beat increased, I started crying and my mind starts racing. I cant calm myself down. I experience these emotions at least once a day and this is really impeding my ability to have a normal 'good' life- i'm constantly panicked and anxious- its always on my mind.
Last year in my first year exams, I cried excessively before every exam and this really affects my concentration levels and inhibits my performance. I exert so much pressure on myself to be perfect, that when I dont meet these expectations I get extremely upset.

I decided that enough was enough, and that this wasn't a normal reaction to work and exams. I saw my doctor yesterday and he was extremely helpful. He actually listened and let me just spill everything to him; things that I would never say to my mum or my closest friends. Having an objective person to listen was such a help. He 'diagnosed' me with an anxiety condition.

Next week he's teaching me stress relief techniques, but he also discussed medication (SSRI's). Has anyone had these? Have they helped?