PDA

View Full Version : Having that awkward conversation

Rioblu
17-03-13, 21:03
Hi everyone.

I recently started a new job, which I have been in for the last 4 weeks. Prior to starting I was signed off work for a while which ended up me losing my old job.

My letter from my gp has come through with the news they can offer me couselling which I feel I need. But this will be through the week and I will need to take time off to go and not feel stressed about it. I haven't Filled out any medical forms so as it stands no one knows that i have generalised anxiety and OCD. I will have to tell my boss about it in order to fulfil and feel comfortable going to counselling I'm really worried as people judge and I'm really new to the company and i don't want my boss to think I'll be a problem or someone he needs to watch. The who's situation is making me feel really ill. People generally don't understand but it's something I have to do. Hase anyone had to do this ? Xx

Tessar
17-03-13, 21:58
I did Rioblu. Many years ago I went through therapy for depression. At that time I had been I n the job a long time and I got worse gradually so it didn't come as a surprise to my colleagues. Therapy helped me get better but then last year my brother died which brought alot if my bad memories back as he wasn't kind to me at all.
Anyway, the job I'm in now, none of my colleagues knew anything about what had happened to me previously and I had never wanted what I might call "old me" ever coming to my new workplace. Everyone was so kind to me after he died, what they couldn't possibly understand is that they were almost killing me with their kindness as i hated what my brother had done to me.. Anyway I ended up needing to go and see a counsellor as it was too much to deal with.