PDA

View Full Version : Medical Student/Junior doctor - ALS.

Maurice
20-03-13, 01:22
Hello everybody,
I have been a keen observer of self-help forums like this one for a while now but this is the first time I decided to post.
If you are reading this: Thank you.
I am a medical student / junior doctor on the verge of begining his professional career.
I only have my licensing exam left to take and am already on practical rotations.
The problem is: Fears of disease are consuming my thoughts.

I have recently begun a PhD in Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis research and it is absolutley wearing me out.
ALS is a disease that I would not wish on my worst enemy.
For those of you who do not know what ALS is, please do NOT! look it up now.
It is the ultimate nightmare for every hypochondriac.
It starts with unspecific symptoms (twitches and weakness) and inevitably leads to a terrifying death. No one knows where it comes from and what to do to treat it. It slowly eats up your muscles while you have to sit back clear-headed and watch yourself deteriorate.
Until you either die from respiratory failure or, if you decide to go on a ventilator, are locked into your body for the rest of your tube fed and ventilated life. This is the topic of my thesis and I spend every day thinking myself into how these people must feel.
I assume that it is taking its toll on me.

My problems have always been similar.
If I see a patient I feel his pain. I have always been the one person on rounds that comes back after everyone has moved on, to smile, sit and talk to my patients to make them understand that they are safe.
Having worked on a few ICU's during my education I understand how debilitating fear can be and I try to take it away whenever I can.