PDA

View Full Version : Man suffering from Panic/Anxiety for 2 months now. Need some encouragement.

StevenN
24-03-13, 19:01
Hello. Thought I'd make this my first post. I decided to join this forum after reading a wonderfully positive testimonial posted by a man called qualia: (I cannot post a link as I'm a newbie).

Like qualia in that post, my panic attacks started after a truly stupid dalliance with a well known class A street drug. (I have been hating myself ever since – I am normally a very anti-drug person).

What followed was my first ever panic attack. It was the scariest experience I've ever had and combined with the nature of the trigger, I honestly thought I was going to die a shameful death.

For the first month I never had a moment's respite from paralyzing panic attacks interrupting a background of inescapable and incapacitating anxiety. There were several trips to A&E, various emergency appointments with doctors and (expensive) psychiatrist. My life had turned upside down. Suffice to say I couldn't work.

The general advice given (along with the understandable 'judging' about my foolish drug use), was: try to relax, it'll go away. I was prescribed lorazapam, clonazepam, diazapam, cetalopram (which made everything worse) and finally given a course of flupenthixol. I also started regular (expensive) CBT sessions.

I started to feel better again, went back to work, three days later. Relapse. Back to square one – this time with no obvious triggers. I feel I have a new fear: this condition will never going away. I've also started to feel an enormous sense of waste about all this time I've spent debilitated. This has started to make me very depressed (just what I need).