PDA

View Full Version : Is meningitus catching?

GirlAfraid23
25-03-13, 16:08
I work in a school and a child in the nursery is suffering from this.
Is it contageous and if so by how much?
I'm very anxious that I have the early signs already as I have a sore throat, tickly cough and abit shivery.
Can anyone help?

emeraldgirl
25-03-13, 16:11
I think you have to be in very close contact for some time to catch it so its not as contagious as a cold or bad chest which there are loads of around at the moment. I sat next to someone in a meeting who went down with meningitis the next day and no one at the meeting (around 50 people) caught it.

sparkle_1979
25-03-13, 16:19
I think it is but you are much more likely to have a cold or flu

GirlAfraid23
25-03-13, 16:19
The thing that worries me is little kids touch their nose and mouth then touch you so isn't thst how its spread?

emeraldgirl
25-03-13, 16:25
If the doctors think you are at risk they will give you antibiotics but its usually only for those that have been in very close contact maybe if you are in the same class as the child that has it

GirlAfraid23
25-03-13, 16:31
Should I ring my doc?
No im not in the class but i am in the class next door

emeraldgirl
25-03-13, 16:41
You could call the doc for some advice if you are really worried but if you aren't in the same class I think you will be ok. I really think you have to be in very close contact over some length of time to catch it. Maybe call just for peace of mind if it will make you feel less anxious

GirlAfraid23
25-03-13, 16:52
I am not sure they take calls like that is all.
Would NHS direct tell me?
I've been looking it up online and its scaring me.

Anxious_gal
25-03-13, 16:56
One of them is, I think it's the virus one.
If he had that then the entire place would be shut down n everyone put on medication.

My mum had bacterial and that's not contagious :) so more than likely its that one.