PDA

View Full Version : Hello from across the pond...

DoraFlora
25-03-13, 21:41
My name is Dora and I have been coping with anxiety for about 5 years. It usually appears as a small (but manageable) panic attack that gives me an upset stomach, waves of nausea, and some palpitations. I can usually tell what sorts of situations will trigger an attack and am grateful that I can usually remove myself from the situation, or sometimes just letting a few minutes pass will alleviate the sense of danger or intensity I have.
I have a wonderful and supportive husband. I am in a government funded talk therapy session with someone I meet with about once a month. Half my family knows about my illness and half does not.

Last month my husband went on a vacation with his father for 4 days. Although I made plans to stay with other family members and try to keep busy, while he was gone I had pretty much a 4 day long panic attack with loss of appetite, intense fatigue, and nausea. As soon as he came home my physical symptoms seemed to subside within a day and I felt back to "normal."

Last week I started feeling nausea and having stomach pain and then anxiety seemed to take hold from there. Suddenly I couldn't tell what symptoms were purely physical and which were propelled by my anxiety. I had blood work done-all normal and an ultrasound-also normal. I present with no fever. I went through about 8 days with nausea, no desire to eat, and an overwhelming feeling of anxiety that seems to arc in waves. I have been feeling particularly anxious in the morning as I first wake up. It's like as soon as I open my eyes I am in the throes of an anxiety attack and it's such a horrible feeling. I am finding it difficult to have relaxing breaths in these moments, the anxiety seems to overpower me.

I have never, in my history with anxiety, had an attack that has lasted for this long or had one that reoccurs daily with no (identifiable) trigger.