PDA

View Full Version : My Night Time Attacks are So Bad I Have to Have Sleep Study

JamesJ
26-03-13, 02:29
Hi all,

I thought I would pop in an post this thread as others might find it useful.

For the past 3 years I've noticed sleep issues that appear to be anxiety related, although they might not be. I'm a long sufferer of anxiety (10 years) and it's destroyed my quality of life.

These sleep issues started randomly around 3 years ago. I'll explain the first time I caught one:

At the time I was working late into the morning on the computer. I'm a Software Developer - I work from the office in my bedroom. I was getting 4-5 hours sleep a night. One day I felt tiered at 2pm, so I thought I'll stroll into bed and get an hours sleep.

I fell asleep, but then out of the blue I suddenly awoke from my sleep shortly after. I remember sitting bolt upright and feeling awful. The feelings were beyond anything I've ever felt in my life. As a long term sufferer of anxiety I've felt some nasty panic experiences, but nothing compares to what I felt when I woke suddenly from my sleep that day.

I think I honestly felt the real feeling of impending doom. I've felt impending doom thousands of times, but this was like a realization that my life was about to slip away.

The feelings I felt that day are so bad I can't even recall them because there are no words to describe them. I can describe anxiety, I can not describe this.

My girlfriend caught the moment it happened. She said I was lying in bed with my eyes open, she thought I was awake. She said when I shot bolt upright I looked as if I'd seen a ghost. She said I put my arms around her and muttered "Help Me". I remember jumping out of bed to run to the tap for water. My legs felt like they were still asleep.

It took me hours to recover from this. There was no pain, no nothing. That was 3 years ago.