PDA

View Full Version : Full time college girl and anxiety sufferer >.<

XxSilentEyes13xX
26-03-13, 02:35
Bon soir, all.

My name is Brianna, I'm a 19-year old college student and I've been suffering with health-related anxiety for a little over a year now. I figured, being new to this site, I should introduce myself and a little of my story, for those who would care to read.

Everything started for me last January. Winters are always hard for me; I seem to flourish and wither with the earth, but this one in particular proved to be the most difficult I'd ever face. To make a story that I feel I could fill books with as short and concise as possible, I didn't feel well one day at school in my senior year of high school and began to panic in the nurse's office. I would always have little freakouts where my heart would race and then slow once I calmed, but for some reason this time I picked up on my heartbeat and asked the nurse if it was normal.

Of course I was tach-ing away, and maybe if she had told me "Yes, you're alright" I never would have continued to have the problems that still plague me today, but when she pulled away from listening and said "Okay, I'm gonna send you to the ER," that was it. I was convinced I was not long for the world. Absolutely convinced.

They were too busy to give me a room in the ER, and after an initial EKG they just sent me to wait, for hours. No one would tell me I was okay, or not in danger, I had no help or assurance. My mother eventually took me home, and I fell asleep. But from that day forward, my mind was naught but constant worry of what was wrong with my heart. How long I had left to live.