PDA

View Full Version : Out in the cold - again!

Oatcake
28-03-13, 07:06
Those of you who know my history know I'm off work just now (I'm a teacher) after a GAD flare up. This is predominantly due to the Headteacher's lack of support, and her apparent thought that not only would it be fun to add extra pressure to me to find my breaking point, it would be fun to throw criticism and snide comments about me being "A sensitive little petal" around in public. Sure enough, I disappeared on sickness leave. My occy health report stated that she'd not offered my support, and I know it's not the first time that's happened.

Yesterday, an announcement was made to my colleagues. They'd been warned this announcement was coming, and those few who have dared break the unspoken "Don't contact the crazy lady" rule text messaged me, wondering what it might be. And that was it, no more from any of them. My GAD kicked in, and I flipped out worrying.

Eventually, one of them broke ranks and said that they'd been told specifically not to tell me what was going on. This was to "Respect the Head's wishes". She told them that she would tell me, and another teacher who is also off with depression (See the pattern here?) by telephone. He rang me last night, and said she'd rung him, and he'd also been told not to tell me. I barely slept last night, and merrily slipped into the self harming cycle of my GAD.

It does sound to me like something in the Head's personal life is about to impact on the school. Perhaps she is leaving? Perhaps she has a terrible illness? Has she been offered a new job? Maybe something has happened in her family? Or maybe my occy health report has been the final straw and she's been removed? Why isn't she telling me? No matter what, I feel sick. I was feeling so much better, and now I'm right back at square one.

Annie0904
28-03-13, 09:56