PDA

View Full Version : Health anxiety mental illness

girl20
31-03-13, 17:02
Hello everyone: This is my first post, so I really hope you can help me. I am a bit desperate. I am 21 years old and I'm currently studying at the university (so yeah the pressure and stress is a lot).
For the past month, I've been struggling a lot with anxiety and with a terrifying fear of developing a mental illness. I know my fears are very irrational considering no one in my family has ever developed this kind of sickness , only my mom had depression last year but she is doing much much better and completely recovered by now (but it was still the hardest thing i ever had to go through, I never expected to see my mother so sick and it all hurt me really much). Regarding that, I first feared having depression as well, but now my fears revolve around having a much worse mental illness (schiz or something), even though I've been reassured by my therapist that it's not gonna happen.

I am a very sociable girl, I have lots of friends, a good boyfriend and a loving family, so I feel very bad that this fear is taking the best of my life.

I hope you can give me some tips on how to deal with it because I can't deal with this anymore.
Thanks in advance
Regards

chantelle
31-03-13, 17:26
Huni....don't let these fears steal your life!!! Try to keep positive....get up in the morning and look in the mirror and speak positive words aloud, such as "Hello gorgeous, it's great to be alive and in such good form. I am never going to suffer from mental illness"...every time you feel anxious, repeat this.
If you speak positive words it sends positive messages to your brain and hopefully this anxiety won't remain as scary.
Take care, Chantelle xxx
:yesyes:

BlueScarlett
31-03-13, 21:15