PDA

View Full Version : New member - Brain tumour?? Help!

Polly01
03-04-13, 00:50
Hi

Please help me - I'm totally new to No More Panic but I'm really struggling. I not only suffer from health anxiety about my own health but also about my children. It's awful - every time one of them is poorly im totally preoccupied with thinking it could be serious like meningitis or cancer. I try to hide my worries from them as I don't want them to end up a terrible worrier like me. My 7 year old daughter has been complaining of a headache at the back of her head/top of her neck and occasional nausea on and off over the last couple of weeks. It's driving me crazy as I've convinced myself she has a brain tumour. We've been on holiday so I haven't made my usual mad dash to the doctors but really want to now we're home. Why do I have to presume the worst . It's exhausting. What do these symptoms mean in a child? Please help if you can. Thank you

Bekzie
03-04-13, 00:54
Hi Polly :welcome:
I think as parents it is only natural that we worry about our kids health but when we have HA we do over react, I do this myself!
I don't know what the symptoms you have mentioned mean in a child, I'm sorry, It could just be a head cold. I would take her to see your doctor, but I'm sure its nothing to worry about

Cesc
03-04-13, 02:48
Hi Polly,

I'm sorry you are feeling so anxious but I guess being a parent does come with the parental anxiety which is quite normal. However, the added stress of health anxiety must be particularly difficult, I am sending some hugs your way :hugs:

I think headache and nausea are pretty non-specific symptoms and I'm sure plenty of children suffer with this every day! I think to put your mind at rest you should go see your GP who can advise you further but I think a brain tumour would be pretty low down on the list of differentials. Try not to worry, it is probably something completely innocent!

Thumbelina
03-04-13, 04:22