PDA

View Full Version : Feeling very surreal and 'not really here' advice needed about going back to work

starfish01
12-04-13, 12:44
Hello,

I've been on Escitalopram 10mg for the past 5 weeks. My main symptom is a very weird 'spaced out' feeling. It's as though I am separate from the world around me. When I see people in the street, I feel completely different from them, as if they are aliens!! I also feel like people are looking at me strangely and that I must be displaying weird behaviour.
I'm supposed to be starting back at work next week part time (I work as a kid's English teacher) but I really don't know how I will handle work if I still feel this way. My boss sent me a text today asking me to confirm whether I will definitely be going back next week or not. If not, she will find a new teacher to replace me. Now I feel really stressed and worried as I'm just not sure if I'll be ok or not. I think it's unreasonable of her to expect me to know exactly how I'll be feeling next week!! Does anyone have any advice? How long do these types of feelings usually last and should I be going back to work after only 5 weeks of treatment??

Many thanks.

Snoodlester
12-04-13, 19:28
Hi Starfish
I went through a bit of this when I started Mirtazapine - I would walk to the shops and had an 'unreal' feeling like I was on a different plain to everyone else. It took much longer than I thought for the meds to work, and before I started to feel 'normal'. I don't think I'm quite there yet, but I'm much better. I hope you'll start to feel better soon.